Aarhus University Seal

Alumni from Scientific Advisory Board

Carl Petersen

Professor at the Brain Mind Institute, Laboratory of Sensory Processing, EPFL-SV-BMI-LSENS, Switzerland 

Rüdiger Klein

Professor at Max-Planck-Institute of Neurobiology

Acting chair of DANDRITE's Scientific Advisory Board

At the Department for Molecules, Signaling, and Development, Prof. Rüdiger Klein's group is interested in understanding the principles of cell-cell communication in the developing and mature nervous system. Besides development, they are also interested in understanding how specific neuron populations contribute to certain types of behavior of adult mice. Furthermore, they also study the molecular mechanisms of neurodegeneration and neuroprotection. 

Mart Saarma

Professor of biotechnology, Institute of Biotechnology, University of Helsinki

Chair of DANDRITE's Scientific Advisory Board

Mart Saarma and his group investigate structure, biology and therapeutic potential of neurotrophic factors. He studies GDNF family of neurotrophic factors and also novel neurotrophic factors CDNF and MANF in the development and in neurodegenerative disease.

Glenda Halliday

Professor at Faculty of Medicine, University of New South Wales & Neuroscience Research Australia

Professor Glenda Halliday works on identifying and understanding the pathobiology of different stages of neurodegeneration, knowledge necessary for the development of therapies and strategies for the prevention of neurodegenerative syndromes. Her research has highlighted broader pathological involvement in Parkinson's disease and dementia with Lewy bodies, with recent work suggesting that lysosome dysfunction and immunity are involved. Her basic research is highly cited, with core concepts incorporated into current consensus diagnostic criteria for different non-Alzheimer dementias and Parkinson’s disease.

Matthias Wilmanns

Head of the Hamburg Unit of the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL)
Research Director of the Center for Structural Systems Biology (CSSB)

Matthias Wilmanns' research group investigates a variety of protein-ligand complexes within the context of biological systems, employing a broad range of molecular and structural biology techniques, namely locally available synchrotron radiation facilities and the future Free Electron Laser in Hamburg. Their specific research interests are on: the architecture of the protein interactome in sarcomeric muscle cells, activity regulation in protein kinases, the architecture of the translocon of peroxisomes, structural                 systems biology in M. tuberculosis.

Kathleen Sweadner

Professor at Dept. Neurosurgery, Massachusetts General Hospital

Professor Kathleen Sweadner's field of expertise is the structure, function, and biological roles of Na,K-ATPase isoforms in excitable tissues.

Moses V. Chao

Professor of Cell Biology, Neuroscience & Physiology and Psychiatry, Skirball Institute of Biomolecular Medicine, New York University School of Medicine

Moses V. Chao's research group is studying the mechanism of action of trophic factors, such as NGF and BDNF, which are responsible for neuronal survival and synaptic plasticity. Since deficits in trophic factors are responsible for neurological disorders such as Alzheimer¹s and Huntington¹s disease, as well as psychiatric disorders (depression, anxiety), the group is currently defining receptor signal transduction pathways that can ameliorate these disorders.